martes, 26 de agosto de 2008

New York, I Love You. I Really Do.


"New York I love you" Teaser
by Mollyryan

Having seen the first movie 'Paris, Je t'aime', I'm super excited to see the next movie, 'New York, I Love You', which takes place in one of my favorite cities of all time, New York City, respectively. Like the previous film, New York is an anthology collection, and this one consists of twelve various filmmakers each creating a five-minute short movie depicting the universal theme of love in all five New York boroughs. And just as the first one did, this boasts an all-star cast that made me die swooning upon first discovering. Including:

Shia LaBeouf
Blake Lively
Natalie Portman*
Hayden Christensen*
Christina Ricci
Orlando Bloom
Rachel Bilson
Kevin Bacon
Ethan Hawke
James Caan
Bradley Cooper
Julie Christie
Goran Visnjic

This movie of epic proportions is set to be released on February 13, 2009 (Right before Valentine's Day! How apropos). Though I'm not a fan of over-the-top romance or fake superficial hallmark holidays, I will definitely enrich my cold heart with some good-ole fashioned love stories from some of the greatest actors of today.

* My climax of 'squeeness' upon discovering this movie is because of Natalie and Hayden. It's kind of hard letting out this deep fangirlness out, but I've been a HUGE Natalie/Hayden shipper since Star Wars (Yes, go ahead. You can make fun now). Anyways, I'm hoping they'll be in a segment together? It'll be the first time they've been in the same production as each other since Star Wars ended about 3 years ago, so I'm very pumped for the potential of that! Alright, fangirling done.

miércoles, 13 de agosto de 2008

"Shoot an apple off my head"

I apologize for the disappearance in the last few days. I went down to Ocean City, Maryland for a few days and enjoyed the nice beaches there. Weather was a little sketchy, but I couldn't complain. It was the first time in two years that I went to the beach and it was as pleasant as the last time. (By the way, the new Coldplay album is great to listen to while watching the waves crash into the shore...so lovely.)

And this is what I woke up to in the morning when I looked out my window. My bed was right next to the balcony and I got the most beautiful view of the early morning ocean. I woke up to 'Clocks' as I looked out to the sea, and the song made the scenery even more lovely.





Beautiful, huh? Because of rain I didn't see a gorgeous sunset...*sigh*

Expect a new post soon!

viernes, 8 de agosto de 2008

Bless Us, Saint Iker.

Today when I logged onto the internet I checked through my usual list of internet musts: Facebook, forums, etc. etc. And one site that I check quite frequently is Kickette, which is the ladies's football haven. I could do without the constant WAG posts, but who am I to say. Anyways, apparently some girls from a Livejournal community made a shirt that got my full undivided attention:


What? An Iker tshirt?! Impossible! But indeed, some great masterminds made an Iker Casillas tshirt depicting the keeper's true holiness. The shirt comes in a plethora of colors, and I am in need of a quirky football shirt. Not to mention, I know I will always be blessed with happiness when wearing San Iker on me.

miércoles, 6 de agosto de 2008

"My Hunger Pangs Are Sticking Like Duct Tape"

As any girl would know, some times we just get those random, needy cravings for certain foods. Whether it be the cliché chocolate or indulgent cake, we have our moments. I am not sure if men get them as well, but I sure do have the strongest, dying cravings at times. It's as if I can't think straight and I feel like my whole stomach will turn inside out if I can't satisfy it. I know, it sounds bad. And it probably is, but the satisfaction of eating it makes it all the better, of course. And as I sit here typing this post, I can hear my stomach bellowing and groaning with hunger, though there is very little to eat at the moment besides some scant Chinese leftovers. Anyways, I have been having particular cravings to foods, and right now I could use some of these:


[[mmmm...steak....]]

I could really use a nice, juicy, medium-rare steak grilled to perfection, with the perfect blend of herbs along with it. I can just smell it right now as I think of it...although maybe that's just the hunger making me imagine vividly.


[[Pop!]]

The other day I had eaten a whole gigantic bowl of cherries-- just for the hell of it. And it was sweet and enjoyable, and we ran out after that. And I still want some more. It really is addictive. I just pop one in and before I know it...it's all gone.


I have been deprived of Nutella for so long that, at this point, if I were to get a jar of it I'd just scoop it out and eat it with a spoon. And I'm usually extremely meticulous about saving Nutella, using it to spread on bread or crepes and such.


martes, 5 de agosto de 2008

Luisa Beccaria Fall 2008 Collection

As summer flies by, bring on the durable, warm fabrics of the fall. And one collection that stood out for me last Fashion Week was Luisa Beccaria's line, which showed at Milan in the designer's district shop. The collection altogether was reminiscent of candied sweets and frothy milkshakes, with their adorable shades of gentle pastels and sugary lace. Ruffles, tulle, satin, and candy buttons galore! To contrast the frilliness of the line, there are darker, more demure fabrics and satins for evening. And although it might seem on the verge of Lolita and what a little four year-old ballerina might don, when worn right these pieces I'm sure can be pulled off as crisp and sophisticated. If I might say myself, it's quite 'Blair Waldorf-ish' in the clean and classiness of it all. My personal favorites? A blush pink peacoat adorned with iridescent buttons, a bluish printed frock cinched at the waist with a belt, and a pinkish dress with some colored luster in the thread with a similar printed jacket and gigantic bow on the neck. In those cold, winter days, in these garments a girl can look like a sophisticated ice princess.











[[photos from style.com]]

lunes, 4 de agosto de 2008

Heartwarming Tunes, Some 80s-tastic Designs, and a Not-So Eventful Emirates Cup

Geez, it's been over a week since I've updated. And I was planning on a long-ass post on the Coldplay concert, but I never got to it. And so, I thought I might as well get everything I wanted to say in this one post, so I can just move on.


The concert was beyond amazing. It was...heaven. At least that's where I thought I was when I was at the Wachovia center. I didn't think that it was possible that I could love them even more. But this concert proved me otherwise. They played the classics as well as the new songs from the new album, and they even came into the audience to sing The Scientist and Will sang 'Death Will Never Conquer'. Over all, a breathtaking live performance the whole night and the audience was full of liveliness and sang along with such enthusiasm! I actually cried when I came home, because I couldn't believe it was over. Until next tour, boys!! I miss you all!

---

So the latest Project Runway was at last, a normal PR challenge! The designers were to go around NYC and take pictures of inspiration to create a 'night out on the town' look. Very much so like a similar challenge from season two, but it's interesting to see what the newer designers have to offer. The winner?


Kenley's design! At first I wasn't so keen on her choice of fabric...for it seemed tacky. But the whole look together with the iridescent tulle and the fabric was surprisingly refreshing! I would have usually thought that this was too tacky and fromage for me, but it was quite a nice surprise. Sure, it had some vintage (erm, 80s) vibes, but it was a nice blast from the past and I absolutely adored the fabric/tulle hybrid of the skirt. The loser:


Emily's frumpy frock. I'll admit, it wasn't really as bad as Nina made it out to be (though that little drama queen likes to make nonsense out of everything these days...) but it was just so off and a little cha-cha Guadalajara queen for me. I would have rather have this design go home than Jennifer's because hers at least had a nice thought to it.

---



So Arsenal did not perform as well as I expected them to during this season's Emirates Cup. It's fine to me, it's only a friendly little competition that they created themselves, but I like to think of all this pre-season jumbo as some sight into the incoming season. I won't even get into the whole Real Madrid conflict with Diaby/Snejider, but I do wish Wesley a nice and speedy recovery. Bring on the few other friendlies and then the new season!!!

[[photos from Bravotv.com and Arsenal.com]]

jueves, 24 de julio de 2008

"Team Ugly Brown Dress"

Because of my lack of sleep, I fell asleep watching the new episode of Project Runway last night (Asleep?! During Runway?!? Impossible!!). I was so disappointed in myself, but I watched the rerun this morning, with no knowledge whatsoever of what had happened, therefore I was very much so on the edge of the sofa.

The episode began with Suede waking up and talking about 'Suede' again. (Go figure) This guy seriously needs to stop speaking in third person. It's getting a little 'psycho-narcissist' and downright annoying. And I'm not the only one complaining of his annoyance and tacky wardrobe, seems like the other designers are as well.

Moving on to the challenge, the designers had to design a cocktail dress using 'green' ( environmentally-friendly, not the actual color) fabrics. The designers got very excited, until they were informed that their MODELS would be picking out the fabrics needed for the design. Models. It's bound to be a disaster, no? Well, I guessed right. It was painful watching the models running around with no knowledge of coordinating colors...or even just colors whatsoever. Some models picked the same fabrics (including that ghastly brown that would lead to a painful bottom two) and hot pink jersey (jersey?!? for a COCKTAIL DRESS?!) Honestly, these girls had no idea what they were doing. And not only that, they didn't get enough fabric, which resulted in some horridly short minidresses. I could feel the designers's pain as they watched the models take out the fabrics out of the MOOD bags.

The designers continued on with their work, and many were stuck and not confident with their ability to make it work. There was the stint of Stella babbling on about how she wants to make everything out of leather. Although I thought that it was right for Jerry to be eliminated in the last challenge, hers was just god awful. I personally just don't see her making it very far in this competition from what I've seen. Where is the innovation and creativity if garments must be made of animal skin? Why not expand a little further and create something out of your realm and try to 'wow' the judges? After all, they are going to get mighty bored of 'leather leather leather', especially that nitpicky Nina Garcia. If she's just going to complain that she can't use leather for ONE measly challenge, why on earth is she on Project Runway? I'm not a fan of Stella whatsoever, and she's starting to get on my nerves.

The next day the designers sent their creations down the runway for the panel of judges, which included the gorgeous, talent actress (and my idol) Natalie Portman. When I saw her come out I squealed with joy along with the other designers. Finally, a decent guest judge! I'm pleased to see her, and it was fitting that she would guest judge at this certain challenge, for she had just released her line of Vegan shoes with Te Casan. I never thought that a low-key star like her would appear in a rather popular reality-TV show, but apparently it's one her favorite shows! Something else we have in common besides being fans of Beirut...

Anyways, I'll cut some of the lullagag. The top three:

My personal favorite was Kenley's dress (Go figure). I thought it was so brilliantly chic and flattered the model perfectly, and the collar was very Victorian-esque yet edgy.


To my surprise, STELLA was in the top three with this number. Nina, why on earth do you like it? I personally thought that this dress was not top three material. To me, this dress was tacky and the shortness along with the sheen was just not 'classy'. The silhouette is lackluster, it could have been more subtle and not try to purposely scream 'hardcore leather lady'.


Please someone amuse me with why why why this won the challenge? Suede's cocktail dress was too sloppy, in my honest opinion. I don't understand how the judges liked this mess. The bust was just too much and it just looked altogether...very odd. Like he just ran some masking tape around her front. Ugh, it's atrocious.

Bottom Three:


Korto's dress had a lovely top bust, but those seams look like it is inside out. The model resembles a golden rocket, and not in a good way. In my opinion, probably the worst of the top three.

Perhaps the fault comes from the choice of color (dumb model), but the loops on the shoulder and the back are just overkill. I can understand that LeAnne wanted to approach this being more edgy and mod, but sometimes less is more if you do it correctly.


To my dismay, this is the dress that got Wesley sent home. Yes, the adorable, questionable-shorts-wearing guy with the cute smile.** He was one of my favorites and he is a talented designer, and it's not fair that the model's choice of fabric and lack of yardage got him sent home. Because really, the silhouette wasn't horrendous. It's the matter of the fabric, which did not compliment the shortness and luster of the dress. I couldn't believe my ears when Nina Garcia said that the shortness, shine, and something else (frankly I can't remember, I was still fuming over the decision) makes a 'cheap' dress. I'm sorry, Ms. Garcia, but Stella's was NOT very classy. Hell, half of the dresses were much shorter than Wesley's. I'll admit, the seams looked sloppy, but you can tell that he really put some detail and thought into it and tried his best., such as the bow at the top of the dress. The judges accused him of being too 'ambitious'. And being 'safe' is just fine, right guys? *Rolls eyes*

This was by far one of the most disappointing Project Runway episodes in a long time, if not ever. It's incredulous that such utter crap like Suede's dress gets higher acknowledgments than Kenley's, while Korto's oddball insideout jumbo is safe, while Wesley's is auf-ed. The problem of that dress was the seams, which is the result of the fabric. The shortness was the length of any minidress out there. I'm highly disappointed in the ridiculous judging so far, and I have a feeling that the show might be going downhill. It's sad that for a great show like Project Runway, it seems that drama and personality overkill win over true potential. I'm still mourning over Wesley's loss, and I do wish that he has a second chance at becoming a designer, for he deserves it.

**Yes, I do realize that he's gay. But don't stomp on my heterosexual Wesley dreams, alright? I already know that I have a tendency to fall for non-flamboyant gay guys (i.e. Daniel V. from season 2, among others I'm embarrassed to mention).